Yesterday, I posted a hand in which Tom Dwan won a huge pot with an epic bluff, and then I lauded the power of pure aggression. See Dwan’s epic bluff here.

Today, I’m posting a hand where Tom Dwan wins money by folding.
I’ll just say it right up front, I am not a good enough player to make the fold you’re about to see. I’ll probably never be a good enough player to make it. If you are, I doff my hood to you.

This video shows the power of folding. You can’t win that particular pot when you fold, but a move that loses you the least money from the spot you currently find yourself in is ALWAYS a winning move.

Geeky Considerations: 

Why doesn’t Black raise K10 from the cutoff, or Coren raise QJ from the button, especially after Black limps? Am I just a maniac for expecting a pre-flop raise out of one of them at least? Especially Coren, if she’s then going to start raising top pair on the flop anyway?

Is Dwan’s flop bet the secret to his fold? He quietly opens the action on the flop; if he doesn’t bet here the action could have gone very differently, and he may have lost more.

At 03:10 Dwan moves to call/raise and then changes his mind. As his opponent, with a massive hand, I might have wanted this to be considered as “forward motion” or “intent to bet”. I think it is very possible he could have been trying to get a read off Black, and I think it’s a bit cheeky. Anyone else have thoughts on that rule?

Read Winning Poker = Not Losing Poker